This post by Drinkwater Law Offices
by Tracy McKenzie, Esq.
Nevada state minimum wage is going up. The Nevada Labor Commissioner issued a State of Nevada Minimum Wage Annual Bulletin on April 1, 2010, announcing the increased state minimum wage rates as follows:
- For employees to whom qualifying health benefits have been offered by their employer, the minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour
- For all other employees, the minimum wage rate is $8.25 per hour
The increases in the state minimum wage rates become effective July 1, 2010.
The Nevada Labor Commissioner also issued a State of Nevada Daily Overtime Annual Bulletin the same day, announcing the hourly wage rate an employer must pay an employee to avoid the Nevada overtime pay requirements. Effective as of July 1, 2010, the minimum hourly wage an employer must pay in order to be exempted from the payment of state overtime is as follows:
- For employees to whom qualifying health benefits have been offered by their employer, $10.875 or more
- For all other employees, $12.375 or more
The federal minimum wage rate is still $7.25 per hour and employers are required to pay overtime in accordance with the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Tracy McKenzie at (775) 828-0800.